Against All Grain

On Tuesday morning I saw a new cookbook released called, “Against All Grain: Delectable Paleo Recipes to Eat Well & Feel Great” . The reviews looked amazing and I was excited to see the author, Danielle Walker, followed a Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD) and had nut-free recipe options as well. I went online to Amazon and got it delivered locally that day!!

That night I marked all the amazing recipes I wanted to make and took time to read Danielle’s amazing journey to a healing diet.   (You can also read her story online here).   It was so fabulous to see someone heal themselves naturally with food!

The first recipe I had to make was Sesame Orange Chicken. I haven’t eaten Chinese food in FOREVER so I was so excited to try this— and let me tell you it did not disappoint! My favorite thing about the recipe was you make in a slow cooker which makes it super easy.  It also incorporated coconut aminos which I have not cooked with much and was excited to try. I had originally doubled the recipe so the whole family could partake, let’s just say that between my hubby and I there was nothing left! Sorry kiddos!

003

The next recipe I made was the homemade mayo. We use a lot of homemade mayo in our house (on basically everything – you could say we have a mayo problem J).  Typically we make mayo with olive oil, so I was excited to try this new version with macadamia oil.

122

The mayo was nutty and sweet and delish! It would be fabulous on a sandwich or dipped with some yummy veggies!

These were just two recipes I made yesterday but I have a long list that I’m looking forward to trying out. I highly recommend Danielle Walker’s new cookbook, especially for those who follow SCD.  You can check it out here!

 

Leave a Reply

